Growing Pains of the Self-Pubbed

Standard

Image

I love writing.  There is rarely a day that I don’t want to be in front of my computer or curled up with a notebook, crafting my own personal masterpiece.  What I didn’t expect was how much extra comes along with getting my work out there for others to read/enjoy.  My first novella only took me two months to get the first draft completed with basic edits and I was super stoked.  I raved about it to family and friends and immediately posted it on, the ever so easy, Kindle Direct Publishing. Big mistake, it went nowhere, there were lots of grammatical errors and I had issues with the sizing of my cover.

It took another two months just to fix the more glaring issues, and it was only then that I realized I still had to actually market my book. It wasn’t enough that I told family and friends.  I needed to build a social media presence, get involved on writing sites, and of course start a blog, not only to help build a following but to have another platform to promote my work.  All of this without being an annoying spammer.  It may only take one to write a compelling story but it literally takes a village to get that story going places.

Thankfully, I’m learning from my mistakes with the first novel, “Xander’s Claim” , and have a solid plan for the second.  It might be more work than I anticipated but no one said your dreams would come easy.

 

Leave a Reply

